OCEANIA | CQ32 | ITU63 | French Polynesia | Tahiti island | OC-046

Amateur Radio Station FO5MD

118 islands in the middle of the Pacific

Situated right in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, French Polynesia spans 5.5 million km², an area the size of Europe. The 118 islands comprising it have a total land area of more than 4,000 km².

These stunning islands, all different, are grouped into five archipelagos, each with its own particular characteristics.

Volcanic high islands and coral atolls

Yet each of the five Polynesian archipelagos (the Society Islands, the Tuamotus, the Gambier Islands, the Marquesas, and the Austral Islands) has its own unique face, according to its geographical location and whether it consists of high islands of volcanic origin (a total of 35 islands in the Society, Marquesas and Austral Islands) or coral atolls (83 atolls, in the Tuamotu and Gambier Islands).