The Society Archipelago

The Society Islands, made up of the Windward and Leeward Islands, are a group of tropical high islands ringed by lagoons. They include:

  • Tahiti, the largest island in French Polynesia and home to the administrative centre, Papeete, and the territory's only international airport;
  • Moorea, whose volcanic peaks are reflected in a lagoon of turquoise waters, separated from Tahiti by a deep channel 17 km (10.5 mi) wide;
  • Huahine, a wild and mysterious island, 175 km (108.5 mi) northwest of Tahiti, a well-kept secret with enduring traditions;
  • aiatea et Taha'a, sacred islands with fertile valleys, which share the same lagoon and offer a particularly pleasant setting for boating;
  • Bora Bora, of great renown, which dominates the unreal beauty of its waters teeming with fish, its motus with their palm groves ringed with white sand, and its coral gardens;
  • Maupiti, or "heart island", nestled in the centre of a jade lagoon.